First Diving Experience   2 comments

Scuba diving has always been an item high on my bucket list. Horror movies like Jaws and Deep Blue Sea made me want to try it more. It’s scary and exciting at the same time. So when I found out that there was a dive center at the resort we were staying, I jumped with joy. Yey! Finally I was going to experience this super cool activity. We made bookings and tried on the wetsuits and flippers for the next day’s dive.

On the morning of the dive, I woke up with full confidence and ready to jump off a boat into the sea. After loading all the scuba equipment, we set off to our first dive location Gamul Kebir (12 meter deep), a beautiful reef in the Red Sea. While on our journey there, our diving instructor taught us the basics of scuba diving and how to set up the scuba gears. He also taught us how to communicate underwater, all the sign language of diving , and also the things we need to do when we are faced with a problem. For example, what to do when there’s pressure built up in our ears or what if water leaks into the goggles or if we have water in our mouth etc etc. He taught us a lot and that is the knowledge that I will remember until my next dive.

Reaching the dive site, I started feeling very scared. We were in the middle of the sea, I couldn’t see the shore anywhere near. All I can see was a vast open sea. And thinking that I would be going underwater anytime soon made me feel like I want to vomit. I can swim pretty well I should say, but it’s not about swimming. It’s the thought of not being able to breath if something were to happen underwater was very scary. I jumped off the boat first followed by my girlfriend, who was also feeling pretty scared, but I think not as sacred as I was. The instructor brought us the the side of the boat to let us test breathe through the regulator. We did not submerge very deep at first because he wanted to let us get the feeling. And after a few minutes we resurfaced. I have never felt that scared in my entire life. I have jumped off a plane before, and I was completely fine. The instructor asked me if I was okay, and I shook my head. I was scared to death!!!! I bet he could see the fear in my eyes through my goggles! I was ready to give up and go back to shore. But he held my shoulders, told me to trust him and it’s gonna be alright and promised that he would not let go of my hands. So I decided to trust him. And we went down to the bottom.

The view of the reef from the boat was breathtaking. The view underwater was even more beautiful. It’s something that I could not describe. But I was still a bit scared at the time, so I didn’t really enjoy the experience at first. There were times that I panicked all of a sudden. My breathing was very rapid, water starts to leak into my goggles every single time pinch my nose and blow to equilibrise the pressure in my ear, and my goggles started to fog……… Fuhhhh~~ So the instructor told me to relax. And I did just that. Everything was fine once I relax. He was right. Whatever it is, DO NOT PANIC and KEEP BREATHING.

After lunch we set off to our second dive site, Tobia Kebir which was a little bit deeper than Gamul Kebir. During this second dive, I was completely fine and I enjoyed the dive a lot. Because I did not concentrate on my fears, I managed to see the beauty of the reef and all the creatures that live in it. And the whole time I was underwater, one thing was on my mind : Allah made this world so beautiful. We should treasure and protect this beauty.

Scuba diving is a new passion that I feel like I want to continue doing. I hope to get my open water diving license soon so I can dive anywhere in the world. Thanks to the great dive instructors of http://3lementz.netdesign.de/ for making my first diving experience something to remember.

P1070755Loading equipments into the boat. We did not do the loading and heavy lifting, the guys from diving center did. The weight of all those scuba gears is not joke.

Gamul-Kebir

Gamul Kebir

Gamul Kebir

P1070761

Gamul KebirView from second level deck

Red Sea in wetsuitTitanic much? hahahaha…

P1070794Getting excited!

Tobia-Kebir

Tobia Kebir

Red SeaOn our way back to shore.

DSC_0924On our last day at the resort we stopped by at the dive center to say our goodbyes to the awesome dive masters. They have been really great to us.

*Note : Photos are from Panasonic Lumix G3, courtesy of Ann. I only edited the photos (with permission of course). I did not bring my Nikon along that day. Too bad.

2 responses to “First Diving Experience

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great blog! so glad you went for that second dive! Scuba diving is an excellent sport, stick with it and come back to the Red Sea…truly the best place in the world for diving!

    • Thanks. Yes. I will definitely continue building my skills. I plan to get my diving license in June. I have Sharm el Sheikh in mind. Read reviews of other divers saying that diving in Sharm el Sheikh is just splendid. I’m following your blog now. Please write more about Egypt and diving. I would love to read your stories and look at photos 🙂

Leave a Reply

